Phase 1 (1997 – 2003)

Under Phase 1 of the grant, DWRC fiscal administration and project contract management was provided by Washington University in St. Louis (WUSTL) through a Cooperative Agreement with the EPA, Office of Research and Development. 

Jay Turner, D.Sc. from WUSTL was the Principal Investigator for Phase 1 of the DWRC.  Dr. Turner was responsible for overseeing the Project Coordinator and ensuring program implementation in accordance with the Cooperative Agreement.  The Project Coordinator, Andrea Shephard, Ph.D., was responsible for coordination and management of all activities associated with implementation of the NDWRCDP Cooperative Agreement, including committee meetings, project procurement and reporting, and communications with the public and other interested parties. 

A 10-member Project Steering Committee, comprised of representatives from the DWRC cooperating institutions, and three At-Large members with expertise and experience in the onsite/decentralized wastewater field were responsible for establishing research and development priorities, allocating research and development funds, and approving project awards. 

Each member of the Steering Committee, based on their individual area of expertise, also served on one or more Project Subcommittees, of which there are four:

  1. Environmental Science and Engineering,
  2. Management and Economics,
  3. Training and Education, and
  4. Regulatory Reform.

The Project Subcommittees were responsible for developing projects based on established research and development priorities, reviewing and recommending proposals for funding, and evaluating project deliverables. Members are listed below along with the PSCs on which they served corresponding to the list above. A description of the research priorities they developed can be found in the 2002-2003 NDWRCDP Training, Research and Development Plan.


Phase 1 Cooperating Institutions and Their Member Representatives

Coalition for Alternative Wastewater Treatment
Valerie Nelson, Ph.D., Action Energy, Inc. (2, 4)

Consortium of Institutes for Decentralized Wastewater Treatment
Ted Loudon, Ph.D., P.E., Michigan State University (1, 4)

Electric Power Research Institute
Raymond Ehrhard, P.E., EPRI - Community Environmental Center (2*, 3)
Tom Yeager, P.E., Kennedy/Jenks Consultants (1*, 2)

National Onsite Wastewater Recycling Association
Jean Caudill, R.E.H.S., Ohio Department of Health (2, 3*)

National Rural Electric Cooperation Association
Scott Drake, P.E., East Kentucky Power Cooperative, Inc. [alternate] (2, 4)

Water Environmental Research Foundation
Jeff Moeller, P.E., Water Environment Research Foundation (1)



Jerry Stonebridge, Stonebridge Construction Company (1, 3)
Richard Otis, Ph.D., P.E., Ayres Associates, Inc. (3, 4)
James Kreissl, Environmental Consultant (2, 4*)

* Denotes the Committee Chair